Managing access to your team's repositories

Repository permission levels for a team

You can customize access to each repository in your team with granular permission levels, giving people access to the features and tasks they need.

People with admin permissions can manage access level of an individual to a team owned repository.

Each permission level increases access to a repository's content and settings. Choose the level that is the most appropriate for a person's role in your project without giving people more access than they need.

In the order of least to most access, the permission levels for a repository are:

  • Read-only: Recommended for non-code contributors who only want to view the dashboard, without modifying anything.
  • Write: Recommended for people who actively push code to the project, who need the ability to modify settings.
  • Admin: Recommended for people who need full access, including the ability to add or remove people to the repository.

Organization administrators can set base permissions that apply to all members of a team when accessing any of the team's repositories. For more information, see Setting base permissions for a team.

For more information about giving people and teams access to repositories, see Managing access to your organization's repositories.

Individuals repository permissions

ActionAdminWriteRead-only
Can view issues✔️✔️✔️
Can view past runs✔️✔️✔️
Can view metrics✔️✔️✔️
Can view overview widgets✔️✔️✔️
Can customize overview widgets✔️✔️
Install Autofix App✔️✔️
Create Autofixes✔️✔️
Can view DSN✔️✔️
Generate SSH key-pair✔️✔️
Change default analysis branch✔️✔️
Change issue types to report✔️✔️
Change issues to type to block PRs on✔️✔️
Deactivate analysis on repository✔️✔️
Can add/remove members✔️
Can update role of existing members✔️
Can ignore issues✔️^^
Can modify metric thresholds✔️^^^^
Can suppress failed metrics✔️^^^^^^

^ If Allow contributors or members to ignore issues is checked.

^^ If Allow contributors or members to modify metric thresholds is checked.

^^^ If Allow contributors or members to suppress failed metrics is checked.

Set base (default) permissions for your team

Team Administrators can set base permissions for the team owned repositories.

About base permissions

Base permissions apply to all members of a team when accessing any of the team's repositories. Base permissions do not apply to contributors, or administrators.

If someone with admin permissions to a team's repository, grants a member a higher level of permission for the repository, the higher level of permission overrides the base permission.

For a newly added team, the default repository permission on DeepSource is set to the same value that you've configured on GitHub. For other VCS, by default, team members will have **Write** permissions to all team repositories.
For open source repositories, all members (and contributors) have write permissions in spite of the selection of base permissions.

Setting base permissions

  1. Go to https://deepsource.io/dashboard/
  2. Select the team from the account switcher on the top-left.
  3. Click on the Settings tab on the left sidebar.
  4. On the Settings page, select Access Control next to the billing.
  5. In the Member Permissions section, select the new Base Permission.

Changing base permissions

Manage an individual's access to a team repository

People with admin permissions can manage the access of team members and contributors to a team repository.

Adding collaborator

You can add members who are already in your team to the repository, either as a member or a contributor. To add new members, please invite them to your team first.

Contributors can only be added as collaborators for open source repositories. For private repositories, contributors first need to be promoted to members.

To add a collaborator:

  1. Go to the repository dashboard.

  2. Go to the Settings tab.

  3. Click on the Repository members tab under Settings.

  4. Click Add collaborator.

  5. Type their name, or email address in the search box. Once you find the individual, click on their name.

  6. Inviting a collaborator to the repo

    If you cannot find someone, make sure that they are added to the team.
  7. Select the required permission level, and click Confirm and add.

adding a collaborator to the repo

Change permission for a member

  1. Go to the repository dashboard.
  2. Go to the Settings tab.

  3. Click on the Repository members tab under Settings.

  4. Find the individual from the list or use the search bar to find the user. Click on the drop-down menu on the right-side with the user's permission level.

  5. Finding the individual

  6. Choose the new permission level, and click Confirm and grant permissions.

  7. Confirm repo access