Managing members in your team

Invite new users to join your team

Administrators can invite anyone to become a member of your team using their email address, or using an invitation link.

If your team has a paid per-user subscription, an empty seat must be available before you can invite a new member to join the team. For more information, see https://deepsource.io/pricing/

  1. Go to https://deepsource.io/dashboard/. On the top left corner, click on the account switcher and then select the team you want to add the user to.

    account switcher

  2. Go to the Home tab on the left sidebar.

    account switcher

  3. Go to the Members tab from the list of tabs on the team header.

    account switcher

  4. Click on the Invite new member button.

    My team overview

  5. You can now invite the team members via e-mail or via invitation link.

    Invite new member

Via email

  1. Type the email address of the person you want to invite.

  2. Choose the appropriate role for the user (check Permission levels for teams for more information).

    Invite new member using email

  3. Click Send Invite.

  4. The invited person will receive an email inviting them to the team. They will need to accept the invitation before becoming a member.

  5. You can click on + Add more emails if you want to invite many team members in a single click.

  1. Clicking Copy Link will copy the invite link to your clipboard.

    Invite new member using link

  2. Send this invitation link to the person you need to invite.

  3. When they sign up using this link, we'll automatically add them to your team.

  4. You can always click on Reset link to generate a new invitation link. Doing this will revoke invitation from the older link.

Remove a member from your team

If a member in your team no longer requires access to any repository owned by the team, an administrator can remove them from the team.

If you have Automatic Sync with GitHub enabled, removing a member from your GitHub organization removes them from the corresponding team on DeepSource as well.

  1. Go to https://deepsource.io/dashboard/, and on the top left corner, click on the account switcher and then select the team from which you want to remove a member.

    account switcher

  2. Go to the Home tab on the left sidebar.

    account switcher

  3. Go to the Members tab from the list of tabs on the team header.

    account switcher

  4. Find the member you want to remove. Click on the drop down arrow on the right hand side with their role, and select Remove from team.

    remove a team member

Transfer ownership of team to another member

An Owner of a team can transfer the ownership of their team to another member via the members page.

  1. Go to https://deepsource.io/dashboard/, and on the top left corner, click on the account switcher and then select the team whose ownership you want to transfer.

    account switcher

  2. Go to the Home tab on the left sidebar.

    account switcher

  3. Go to the Members tab from the list of tabs on the team header.

    account switcher

  4. Click on Owner to toggle the options and then click on Transfer ownership.

    account switcher

  5. Select the member you want to transfer ownership to from the list of members.

    account switcher

  6. Verify your email address in the next input and fill in rest of the options as per your requirements.

    account switcher

  7. Click on Confirm and transfer ownership, to transfer your team's ownership.

    account switcher

Sync members from vcs provider

About sync

When roles and permissions are changed for any of your team members on your VCS Provider (GitHub, GitLab, or BitBucket), the settings on DeepSource can be updated accordingly by running a Sync.

Running sync

  1. Go to https://deepsource.io/dashboard

  2. Switch to the correct team from the account switcher on the top left corner.

  3. Go to Settings from the central navigation bar.

  4. On the settings page, click on the Access control tab from the left side bar.

  5. Click on the Sync manually button to sync access settings from GitHub/GitLab/BitBucket.

  6. A modal will inform you that this action cannot be undone. If you still want to continue, click Sync access settings.

    sync setting from vcs provider

Automatic sync with GitHub

By setting up Automatic Sync (currently only available for GitHub), we can sync access settings for you without any manual intervention. Whenever the permissions, or roles are changed on GitHub, whether repository-wide or organization-wide, we are notified via a webhook, and we update the settings automatically. This means that if a user exists on both GitHub and DeepSource, their access settings will automatically be synced from GitHub in the following events:

  • When you add a new team member on DeepSource that is a member of your organization on GitHub as well, they get added as a repository collaborator on all repositories with the same permission as on GitHub.
  • When you remove an organization member on GitHub, they get removed from the DeepSource team as well.
  • When you add, edit permission or remove a repository collaborator from a repository on GitHub, the same is replicated on DeepSource.

Setting up automatic sync

Team Administrators can setup DeepSource to automatically sync access settings from GitHub.

  1. Go to https://deepsource.io/dashboard

  2. Switch to the correct team from the account switcher on the top left corner.

  3. Go to Settings from the central navigation bar.

  4. On the settings page, click on the Access control tab from the left side bar.

  5. Toggle on the switch next to Automatically sync access settings from GitHub.

  6. Automatic Sync has been set up.

    sync setting from vcs provider